Treasure Horse begins renovation

wpid-20141005_121902.jpg

In celebration of my new farmhouse I bought an organizing bag and had it personalized in my fav color 😉

With so much work to be done on all aspects of our new property I have been feeling somewhat overwhelmed. I have decided to try to narrow my focus and celebrate in the small accomplishments. While several guys were working on the inside of the house, I decided to concentrate on cleaning up some of the remnants left behind in the barn. Typical things you would expect to find…like poop and a few piles of straw and hay 😉
wpid-20141004_151603.jpg wpid-20141005_170658.jpg
Before                                                                      After

Like I said…”small accomplishments”.  I know it doesn’t seem like much, but that was at least 4 wheel barrows full of a mix of old straw and hay.  I am considering this area as a wash rack since there is already a drainage area cut out in the cement.  I would install a grate over the now open area for safety of course, build up the walls, and probably relocate the stairs.  This was a milking area years ago, though there is nothing left of the stanchion.

wpid-20141004_151654.jpg

This is the area directly behind the possible wash rack area.  I plan on removing the feeding troughs to gain approximately 4 more feet in stall depth and enclosing these areas for proper stalls rather than the tie stalls that they are now, reusing the lumber.  For those of you not familiar with this type of stall… when the work horses or buggy horses are brought into the barn they are tied to the feeding troughs, frequently while still fully tacked and harnessed, just unhitched from the buggy or plow.  These stalls were designed to accommodate two horses in each section.   They are allowed to stand and eat until it’s time to be hitched back up.  This area would mostly be used during a work day of plowing or when visitors would come for the day and needed somewhere for their horses to eat and rest.

As you can see there are many repairs to be made and a large pile of manure in the far back corner.  I need to remember to bring a sturdy push broom next time also!  Across the isle from the tie stalls can be seen in the pics of the possible wash rack area.  I am still in deep thought as to what to do with that area :/

wpid-20141004_151738.jpg

I believe this is an old milking stanchion.  I don’t have a cow, nor do I intend on getting one…

wpid-20141004_153626.jpgwpid-20141004_153603.jpg

The other side of the barn…yep… I’m stumped.  My creativity is null.  I will try to draw a floor plan on graph paper, maybe that will help.

wpid-20141004_170006.jpg

House preview:  Plan on wrap around porch, larger windows, 3 or 4 car garage in the back addition that you can just barely see in the pic.  This house was not built with any grand or unique woodwork that you hear of with great Amish craftsmanship. It is a simple design strictly to serve a purpose of housing a family. The larger part of the house was built in 1994, the older smaller part of the home is up for debate, but the homestead dates back to the early 1900’s. I assure you, there is most likely NOTHING left of the original homestead ( except for the large rocks that are at the far back corner of the new block foundation ).  So please don’t be overly concerned of destruction of anything that should be saved or preserved.  Though the outside of the house looks very well built, the inside features uneven floors and ceilings, roof leaks, mold and mildew in the floors and walls, and an unfinished upstairs with plywood floors.  Be-still my heart…I’m in love all the same!

Author:

Horse crazy and lovin' it!

Leave a Reply

