What’s your riding schedule???

Just curious how some of you fit in riding time?  After a busy 9 1/2 hour work day where I was literally on my feet all day long, I am exhausted!  It’s almost 7:30 in the evening and I am just getting home.  My feet hurt, I haven’t had dinner, or a proper lunch for that matter, my patience is almost to a zero right now, and the horses were eager to get their dinner too.  I always find that when I try to ride when I feel like I am on a strict time restriction or already exhausted, that is when things go wrong and frustrations build quickly, so no riding for me tonight.  

How do I fit it all in and find balance in life with a measly 24 hours in a day???

7 a.m. out of bed, get coffee

7:45 see teenage daughter off to school

8:30 morning feed and check in on Mother

8:50 arrive at work

6:40 p.m. leave work

6:45 check on Mother, call horses in from pasture, feed horses, give meds-supplements as needed, pitch a few piles of manure.

7:20 back at home, collapse on couch, dream of served dinner, too exhausted to cook, thank goodness husband went to visit a friend this evening and daughter is at after school job… my bunions are killing me!!!

7:40 look out window and feel guilty for wasting daylight and perfect weather for riding 😦

 

Author:

Horse crazy and lovin' it!

3 thoughts on “What’s your riding schedule???

  1. I am the same, but for me it is trying to fit around a young family. I know that if i make the effort I will feel amazing for it, but it is hard to go out and do something physical when the rest of the family are having their dinner and winding down for the evening.
    It is one of the reasons I started blogging really, as I have a lot of people asking how easy is it juggling a young family and horses with very little help – no full time childcare, horses not kept at home or on full livery. I do it because it is a huge part of who I am and I carry on in the hope that someday it will get easier…..

  2. I ride 2 horses 5 times a week and have a full time job. I don’t even know how I do it. The weekends are easy. I ride 3 evenings a week. I don’t get out to the stables until 6:45. This time of year, I have enough daylight to get both horses on a short trail ride. When I am done, if my wonderful boyfriend isn’t there to help, I also clean 3 stalls and water and hay 30+ horses. I get home before 10:30.

    I just keep moving–don’t waste any time. I have been doing it for years, so everyone knows what to expect. On horse evenings, the dog gets a short walk, the food is either from the crockpot or leftovers that can be reheated and I will not work past 5:00 at work.

    The most frustrating part is the half hour drive to get to the barn.

Leave a Reply

